Increase font size
Decrease font size
  • Kurt Ribisl (Cancer Prevention and Control Research Network and CounterTobacco) was named the Health Behavior and Health Education Teacher of the Year in 2012.  Ribisl was selected by the students of HBHE as the faculty member “who improves the student learning environment and outcomes by integrating new technologies, engaging students in interactive activities, employing creative assessment methods, introducing progressive curriculum and/or incorporating creative ideas.”
  • Jennifer Leeman (Center for Excellence for Training and Research Translation) was awarded the 2012 Arnold Katz Distinguished Alumni Award from the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health.
  • Mary Altpeter was awarded the Sarah Mazelis Best Paper of the Year Award in 2012 for her work with a study on methodological tips in conducting formative evaluation to revise the Walk With Ease program.
  • Amy Herring (National Association of Objectively Measured Physical Activity and Mortality) won the McGavran Award for Teaching in 2010 and the Teaching Innovation Award from School of Public Health in 2012.
  • Mary Altpeter (Walk With Ease) was awarded the southern Gerontological Society  2012 Gordon Streib Distinguished Academic Gerontologist Award
  • Healthy Child Weight Through Improved Parent Practices and Environmental Change was awarded the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health Gillings Merit Scholarship.
  • NIH – UNC Clinical Translation Science Award Administrative Supplement was awarded UNC’s inaugural Office of the Provost Engaged Scholarship Award for Exemplary Partnerships for our work in this Community Engagement Consulting Models project.
  • Anne Cole won the 2012 Call of Duty award. Anne was nominated by her peer for going well above and beyond the expectation of her job. Her peers wrote that Anne is the jack of all trades for HPDP and is always willing to help anyone and everyone.
  • Shelia Cheek won the 2012 Call of Duty award. Shelia was nominated by her peers for her superb work ethic and “can-do” attitude. Her peers noted that Shelia’s selfless nature and innate problem-solving skills make her an invaluable asset to the Center.
  • Lori Schrodt, PT, PhD, of Western Carolina University and Tiffany Shubert, PT, PhD are co-recipients of the 2012 NCFPC Committee on Risk Assessment and Provider Education Award for Excellence in Clinical Practice. This award is given annually to recognize a physical therapist who has contributed to the development of the physical therapy profession.